Unleashing Esports Legends: Delving into the 5 Most Epic CS:GO Major Finals in History

Toby Marshall
9 June 2023
CS:GO Major Finals

In the world of esports, Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) has established itself as one of the most popular and competitive titles. Over the years, CS:GO Majors have captivated fans worldwide, showcasing intense battles, incredible displays of skill, and unforgettable moments. As we bid farewell to an era with the recent conclusion of the BLAST Paris Major, let’s take a deep dive into the five best CS:GO Major finals in history that have created esports history.

ESL One Cologne 2014: The Clash of Titans

Taking the fifth spot on our list is the legendary ESL One Cologne 2014. This final witnessed the epic clash between two Swedish powerhouses, Ninjas in Pyjamas (NiP), and their fierce rivals, Fnatic. The intensity of the competition was unparalleled, with the final match going all the way to a third map, Inferno. NiP’s GeT_RiGhT showcased his exceptional skills, leading his team to a thrilling comeback from an 11-6 deficit to a 16-13 victory. The emotional rollercoaster and the outstanding gameplay make this final an iconic moment in CS:GO history.

DreamHack Winter 2014: LDLC’s Triumph

At DreamHack Winter 2014, the stage was set for another classic Major final. This time, NiP faced off against the French squad, LDLC. Despite NiP’s valiant efforts, LDLC showed remarkable resilience, coming back from a 14-9 deficit on the third map, Overpass, to force an overtime. Eventually, LDLC emerged as the victors, winning the final 4-1 in overtime. This thrilling encounter showcased LDLC’s determination and marked their first Major victory, making it a standout moment in CS:GO history.

ESL One Katowice 2015: Fnatic’s Domination

ESL One Katowice 2015 witnessed the rise of Fnatic, as they asserted their dominance in the CS:GO scene. Going up against the talented NiP, Fnatic showcased their prowess, winning the final 2-1. This grand final was a spectacle of skill, strategy, and intense competition. It highlighted Fnatic’s teamwork and individual brilliance, establishing them as a formidable force in CS:GO esports.

MLG Columbus 2016: The First North American Major

MLG Columbus 2016 holds a special place in CS:GO history as the first Major hosted in North America. The final between Luminosity Gaming (later SK Gaming) and Team Liquid was a thrilling showcase of skill. Both teams fought tooth and nail, with the series going to the maximum of three maps. Luminosity Gaming emerged victorious, securing their place in history as the first South American team to win a Major. This final marked a significant milestone for the CS:GO community and ignited the passion for the game in North America.

ELEAGUE Boston 2018: Cloud9’s Fairytale Run

The final entry on our list takes us to ELEAGUE Boston 2018, where Cloud9 embarked on an incredible underdog journey. Facing off against FaZe Clan, Cloud9 showcased resilience and determination throughout the series. The final map, Mirage, witnessed some jaw-dropping plays and clutch moments. In an unforgettable turn of events, Cloud9 emerged victorious, becoming the first North American team to win a Major. This fairytale run captured the hearts of fans worldwide, making it one of the most cherished moments in CS:GO history.

100% up to €550

Use Promo Code WELCOME for a 100% deposit bonus.

100% first deposit bonus which means that we will add an extra 100% to the amount you deposit into your player account. The maximum amount for the bonus is €550 and the rollover requirement is x10 for betting and x30 for casino (qualified deposited amount + bonus).

Play Now

These five CS:GO Major finals have left an indelible mark on the esports landscape. They showcased the pinnacle of skill, determination, and teamwork, captivating audiences and establishing these matches as legendary moments in CS:GO history. As the CS:GO esports scene continues to evolve, fans eagerly anticipate the future Major finals that will undoubtedly add to this rich tapestry of unforgettable moments.

Author Toby Marshall